DIWO

event | Allgemein

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Seokkeodungdung: Doing “Social Fermentation” 
  2. Workshop | Rice Brewing Sisters Club (RBSC)
4. Juni 2022

RBSC stelt ihr neues Projekt vor, das Mikroorganismen dient, die aus Reis, Erde und menschlichen Händen gesammelt wurden. Sie erläutert ihren Ansatz der „seokkeodungdung“, ein sozio-mikrobielles Experiment des Mischens, Schwebens, Pflegens und Situierens „auf dem Feld“.

event | Allgemein

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Soya C(o)u(l)ture. Ecoprints on Bioleather
  2. Workshop | Irene Agrivina
28. Mai 2022

Im Workshop wird die Künstlerin das Konzept von SOYA C(O)U(L)TURE vorstellen und über den Prozess sprechen, Muster zeigen und dann die Teilnehmer anleiten, ihre eigenen Öko-Drucke mit leicht verfügbaren Materialien wie Blumen und Blättern herzustellen.

event | Konferenz

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Collective Experiments in Social Fermenting
  2. Internationale Konferenz (hybrid | on-site mit Livestream)
27. - 28. Mai 2022

Das Projekt erörtert künstlerische Ansätze zum Wiederaufbau und zur Wiederbelebung beschädigter sozialer Beziehungen nach der Pandemie. Die internationale Konferenz umfasst Präsentationen von Künstler:innen, derzeit bei ALB ausgestellt, sowie Gastbeiträge aus der künstlerischen und kuratorischen Praxis, Design, Biologie und Anthropologie.

event | Allgemein

Hackers, Makers, Thinkers

  1. Almost Nonhuman (Berlin)
  2. Workshop | Interspecifics
7. - 8. Mai 2022

Das internationale Kunst-Forschungs-Kollektiv Interspecifics lädt ein zum Workshop zur kollektiven Erschaffung spekulativer posthumanistischer Szenarien und zum gemeinsamen Aufbau von Geschichten, die unseren Übergang vom Anthropozän zur transversalen Inklusivität des Symbiozäns unterstützen können.

event | Allgemein

Hackers, Makers, Thinkers

  1. Kurator:innengespräch
  2. Regine Rapp, Tuçe Erel, Christian de Lutz, Tengal Drilon
23. Januar 2022

Im Rahmen von „Vorspiel | transmediale“ lädt ALB zu einem Online-Gespräch mit dem Kurator:innenteam von „Hackers, Makers, Thinkers“ ein. Die diesjährige Veranstaltungsreihe wird Berliner Künstler:innen mit Künstlerinnen aus Lateinamerika und Südostasien zusammenbringen und Kunst als Werkzeug für soziales Empowerment und Wissenserwerb, Kollaboration und Zusammenarbeit vorschlagen.

event | Kurs

Mind the Fungi

  1. Pilzkultivierungs-Kurse | TOP Lab
Frühjahr 2019 und Herbst 2019

TOP Lab wird einen Pilzkultivierungskurs veranstalten, bei dem die Teilnehmer:innen lernen, wie man Pilze für verschiedene Zwecke isoliert und züchtet, z. B. für Verpackungsmaterialien, Möbel, Baumaterialien und sogar Leder. Der Kurs wird auch zeigen, wie man eine Kultur anlegt, um essbare Pilze zu züchten.

event | Performance, Workshop

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. Wasserpank | Workshop & Jam Session
  2. Kat Austen und Nenad Popov
5. Oktober 2019

Die Künstlerin und Chemikerin Kat Austen sowie der Klang- und Medienkünstler Nenad Popov nehmen den Fluss und sein Wasser als Ausgangspunkt für diesen spannenden Workshop zum Thema Klangexperimente aus Wasser und Umwelt.

event | Allgemein

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. (Un)Real Ecologies. Microplastics | Workshop
  2. Kat Austen und Joana MacLean
6. - 8. Juli 2018

Wie leben Organismen und Bewohner der Panke mit Plastik in ihrem Lebensraum? In dem 3-tägigen Workshop suchen wir nach sichtbaren Wechselwirkungen zwischen Kunststoffen und Biota in und um die Panke. Außerdem nutzen wir ein chemisches Protokoll zur Analyse von (Mikro-)Kunststoffen in Wasserproben.

event | Talk, Talk, Talk

Mind the Fungi

  1. Material Driven Design | Workshop
  2. Fara Peluso
6. Mai 2020

Basierend auf den Methoden des Material driven Design erforscht Fara Peluso in diesem Workshop Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von Myzel-basierten Materialien. Die Teilnehmer:innen diskutieren und arbeiten gemeinsam an wachsendem Material, bauen Skulpturen und zeichnen und schneiden Muster auf ein neues Material aus Biofilm.

event | Talk

DIY Bio Lounge

  1. in Kooperation mit Rüdiger Trojok
24. - 26. Januar 2014

Zum Auftakt unseres Programms 2014 präsentiert Art Laboratory Berlin drei Veranstaltungstage zu Open Source Biologie und Mikroorganismen, organisiert mit Rüdiger Trojok und in Verbindung mit den transmediale und CTM Festivals

event | Kurs, Meet up

Bio & Beers

  1. with Biotinkering e.V.
  2. Dr. Mirela Alister, Rüdiger Trojok, Alessandro Volpato und Biotinkering e.V.
August 2016 - April 2017

Das Format Bio & Beers ist für jedermann: Wir beginnen mit einer 20-minütigen Präsentation, gefolgt von Diskussionen bei einem Bierchen. Außerdem wird es gelegentlich DIY-Workshops geben!

Read More
event | Walk & Talk

Mind the Fungi

  1. Walk & Talks
  2. Theresa Schubert und TU Berlin
Herbst 2018 und 2019

Bei den Walk & Talks erkundeten die Künstlerin Theresa Schubert und Biotechnologen der TU Berlin mit dem Publikum das Potenzial von nachhaltigen Biomaterialien aus Pilzen in den Wäldern Berlins und Brandenburgs. Nach dem Sammeln von Baumpilzen wurde das Publikum in das TUB-Labor eingeladen, um diese zu kultivieren.

Mehr lesen

DIWO

event | Workshop

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Khipu Dialogues
  2. Workshop | Constanza Piña Pardo
25 May 2022

The workshop is an open conversation about Constanza’s khipu research, the uncertainty of the past and a ritualistic connection with the ancient technologies of South America. Starting at Art Laboratory Berlin we will explore original khipus in the archives of the Ethnological Museum.

event | Workshop

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Soya C(o)u(l)ture. Ecoprints on Bioleather
  2. Workshop | Irene Agrivina
28 May 2022

In the workshop the artist will introduce the concept of SOYA C(O)U(L)TURE and talk about the process, show samples and then lead the participants in making their very own eco-prints using easily available materials such as flowers and leaves.

event | Conference

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Collective Experiments in Social Fermenting
  2. International Conference (hybrid | on-site and livestream)
27 - 28 May 2022

The project discusses artistic ways of rebuilding and re-energizing damaged social relations after the pandemic. The international conference includes presentations by artists, currently on show at ALB, and guest speakers from the artistic and curatorial practice, design, biology and anthropology.

event | Reading Club

Inspired By…

  1. Reading Club
  2. With Guest Artists Rice Brewing Sisters Club (RBSC)
3 May 2022

Inspired by… is an event series, a hybrid format derived from reading group and artist talk formats. In each session, an invited artist will choose a specific text or excerpt from a book that was inspirational for the artist’s practice and/or a particular project that the artist will introduce.

event | Workshop

Hackers, Makers, Thinkers

  1. Almost Nonhuman (Berlin)
  2. Workshop | Interspecifics
7 - 8 May, 2022

The international art research collective Interspecifics invites to a workshop for the collective creation of speculative post-humanist scenarios and build stories together that may assist our transition from the Anthropocene to the transversal inclusivity of the Symbiocene.

event | Colloquium

In Progress… | Colloquium

  1. Research in Art, Science and Humanities
  2. With Fara Peluso and James Whitehead
12 April 2022

The Colloquium addresses an international interdisciplinary research audience to present and discuss past, present or future projects by artists, scholars, curators or editors from the fields of art, science and the humanities, focussing on the work-in-progress.

event | Talk

Hackers, Makers, Thinkers

  1. Curators Talk
  2. Regine Rapp, Tuçe Erel, Christian de Lutz, Tengal Drilon
23 January 2022

As part of “Vorspiel | transmediale” ALB welcomes you to an online talk with the curatorial team of “Hackers, Makers, Thinkers”. This year’s event series will combine Berlin based artists with artists from Latin America and Southeast Asia, proposing art making as a tool for social empowerment and knowledge acquisition, collaboration, and working together.

event | Walk & Talk

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. Walk & Talk
  2. With members of the art science collective
31 October 2021

Members of the collective will meet for a walk along the Panke river, together with the public, to talk about their previous research on the river, its flora, fauna and ecologies. We will also give a preview of our upcoming DIY/ DIWO program for 2022.

event | Talk, Workshop

DIY Bio Lounge

  1. in cooperation with Rüdiger Trojok
24 - 26 January 2014

To open our 2014 programme Art Laboratory Berlin will be presenting three days of events on open source biology and micro-organisms organized with Rüdiger Trojok and in connection with the transmediale and CTM festivals

event | Workshop

Synthetic Biology Workshop

  1. C-LAB
5 - 7 September 2014

This workshop, led by Howard Boland, is for artists, designers, DIY biologists, and especially lay people who wish to gain practical experience with the processes and methods in the creation of new life forms, bio-materials and new forms of expression.

event | Course, Meet up, Talk, Workshop

Bio & Beers

  1. with Biotinkering e.V.
  2. Dr. Mirela Alister, Rüdiger Trojok, Alessandro Volpato and Biotinkering e.V.
25 August 2016 - 20 April 2017

The Bio & Beers format is for everyone: we start with a 20 minutes presentation, followed by discussions while having beers. In addition there will be occasional DIY workshops!

Read More
event | Talk, Workshop

DIYBio NOW

  1. DIYBio faire
  2. Biotinkering e.V.
17 - 19 February 2017

The three-day bio-fair brings together the players in the Berlin biohacking scene for a series of hands-on workshops, talks and a special exhibition featuring unique DIY laboratory equipment.

Read More
event | Workshop, Workshop

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. (Un)Real Ecologies. Microplastics | Workshop
  2. Kat Austen and Joana MacLean
6 - 8 July 2018

How do organisms and inhabitants of the Panke live with plastic in their habitat? In the 3-day workshop we search for visible interactions between plastics and biota in and around the Panke. We also use chemical protocol for the analysis of (micro)plastics in water samples.

Read More
event | Workshop

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. (Un)Real Ecologies. Microplastics
  2. Kat Austen and Frithjof Glowinski
13 - 14 April 2019

How do organisms and microorganisms exist with microplastics? We will investigate water samples and will use DIY chemistry methods to separate microplastics from mineral and organic matter, and discover the origins of the plastics they find by creating density columns.

Read More
event | Performance, Workshop, Workshop

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. Wasserpank | Workshop & Jam Session
  2. Kat Austen and Nenad Popov
5 October 2019

Artist and chemist Kat Austen together with sound and new media artist Nenad Popov take the Panke river and its water as a starting point for this exciting workshop on sound experimentation from water and the environment, experimenting with hydrophone recordings.

Read More