art and science

event | Reading Club

Inspired by…

  1. Reading Club
  2. Mit den Gast-Künstler:innen von Interspecifics
22. November 2022

Inspired by… ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe, ein hybrides Format, das sich aus Lesegruppe und Künstler:innengesprächen zusammensetzt. In jeder Sitzung wählt ein:e eingeladene:r Künstler:in einen bestimmten Text aus, der für die jeweilige künstlerische Praxis oder ein Projekt inspirierend ist, das sie / er auch vorstellt.

event | Talk

PANKE INTERVENTIONEN

  1. Notes on Somatodelia
  2. Artist Talk | Tad Ermitaño
20. November 2022

In seinen Filmen und Kunstwerken schafft Tad Ermitaño ein unruhiges Feld, in dem eine Leichtigkeit im Umgang mit Technologie mit einer Art postkolonialer Schuld kollidiert, die mit dem Kopf gegen die Grenzen des Empirismus stößt. In diesem Künstlergespräch mit der Kuratorin Tengal Drilon wird Ermitaño über die Methodik seiner jüngsten Arbeiten sprechen, die Anfang des Jahres im Art Laboratory Berlin gezeigt wurden.

event | Workshop

PANKE INTERVENTIONS

  1. Koji Workshop
  2. Workshop | ink Agop
26. - 27. November 2022

Der Koji-Workshop von ink Agop führt in die symbiotische Beziehung zwischen Mikroorganismen und menschlichen kulturellen Aktivitäten ein, indem er die Verbindung zwischen Koji-Schimmel und der Esskultur in Japan aufzeigt. Die Teilnehmenden stellen Reiskoji her und erleben die vielfältigen parallelen Fermentationsprozesse mit Koji, Hefe und Milchsäurebakterien.

event | Workshop

PANKE INTERVENTIONS

  1. Algature Workshop
  2. Workshop | Fara Peluso
12. November 2022

Der Workshop verknüpft Praktiken der DIY-Biologie mit Kunst und Design. Durch ein partizipatorisches Format wird das Publikum mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund in eine immersive Erfahrung mit der Ökologie der Algen, einen DIY-Fotobioreaktor-Prototypen und eine Diskussion über spekulative Praktiken einbezogen, die darauf abzielen, das Bewusstsein für die täglichen Gewohnheiten zu schärfen.

event | Talk

TERRA XENOBIOTICA OR HOW TO BELONG

  1. Artist Talk | Saša Spačal
25. November 2022

Die Bio-Medien-Künstlerin Saša Spačal wird über ihr neues künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt sprechen, das sich derzeit entwickelt. Von Oktober bis November 2022 forscht die Künstlerin für ihr neues Projekt „Terra Xenobiotica oder How to Belong“ im Labor der Rillig-Gruppe | Ökologie der Pflanzen, Institut für Biologie, Freie Universität Berlin und im Art Laboratory Berlin.

event | Colloquium

IN-PROGRESS… | COLLOQUIUM

  1. Forschung in Kunst, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften
  2. Mit Saša Spačal und Joana MacLean
8. November 2022

Das Kolloquium richtet sich an ein internationales, interdisziplinäres Forschungspublikum, um vergangene, aktuelle oder zukünftige Projekte von Künstler:innen, Wissenschaftler:innen, Kurator:innen oder Herausgeber:innen aus den Bereichen Kunst, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften vorzustellen und zu diskutieren.

event | Reading Club

Inspired by…

  1. Reading Club
  2. Mit Gast-Künstlerin SU Yu Hsin
11. Oktober 2022

Inspired by… ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe, ein hybrides Format, das sich aus Lesegruppe und Künstler:innengesprächen zusammensetzt. In jeder Sitzung wählt ein:e eingeladene:r Künstler:in einen bestimmten Text aus, der für die jeweilige künstlerische Praxis oder ein Projekt inspirierend ist, das sie / er auch vorstellt.

event | Workshop

PANKE INTERVENTIONS

  1. Wetland Ecologies: Life in Transitional Zones 
  2. Workshop | Sarah Hermanutz, India Mansour, Fara Peluso
8. Oktober 2022

Im Workshop werden das Trio – Künstlerin, Designer und Biologin – die Teilnehmenden mit dem Fluss Panke und der sich verändernden Wahrnehmung von Feuchtgebieten und essentiellen Ökosystemen vertraut machen. Dies geschieht durch Verortung, Storytelling, Kontextualisierung, Erfahrung, Entnehmen und Untersuchung von Proben und Kollaboration.

event | Walk & Talk

HACK THE PANKE Festival

  1. Reflecting Symbiosis
  2. Walk & Talk | Saša Spačal und Matthias Rillig
3. Oktober 2022

In unserer letzten Veranstaltung des Festivals wird uns die Künstlerin Saša Spačal in ihre künstlerische Forschung über Symbiose und Verflechtungen zwischen den Arten einführen. Der Ökologe Matthias Rillig wird uns einen Einblick in seine Forschung über die Symbiose von arbuskulären Mykorrhizapilzen mit Pflanzen.

event | Workshop

PANKE INTERVENTIONS

  1. Taphonomy of Trash
  2. Workshop | Kat Austen
1. Oktober 2022

Auf der Grundlage der Open Artistic Research Platform des Palaeoplasticene-Projekts werden die Teilnehmenden in das Konzept der ‚zufälligen Taphonomie‘ eingeführt und erforschen die Vergänglichkeit der organischen Existenz und die Beziehung der Menschen zu langlebigen Materialien wie Kunststoff.

event | Workshop

PANKE INTERVENTIONS

  1. Kentanggung
  2. Workshop & Lecture | Ariel Orah und Michelle Lai (Soydivision)
23. September 2022

In diesem partizipatorischen Workshop erkunden wir das Spektrum der Geschichten und Vorstellungen, die die Kartoffel als Samen der Sehnsucht und des Vergnügens in sich birgt, indem wir die historischen und migratorischen Wege der Kartoffel nachzeichnen.

event | Colloquium

IN-PROGRESS… | COLLOQUIUM

  1. Forschung in Kunst, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften
  2. Mit Margherita Pevere und Dolores Steinman
20. September 2022

Das Kolloquium richtet sich an ein internationales, interdisziplinäres Forschungspublikum, um vergangene, aktuelle oder zukünftige Projekte von Künstler:innen, Wissenschaftler:innen, Kurator:innen oder Herausgeber:innen aus den Bereichen Kunst, Geistes- und Naturwissenschaften vorzustellen und zu diskutieren.

event | Workshop, Workshop

HACK THE PANKE Festival

  1. Mycelium Radio
  2. Workshop & Performance | Martin Howse
24. - 25. September 2022

In einer Reihe von experimentellen Situationen untersuchen wir ein neues vernetztes Imaginäres, der einzelne Organismus des Pilzmyzels, in Beziehung zu lokalen, globalen und universellen elektromagnetischen Signalen. In diesem zweitägigen Workshop werden wir DIY-Radioempfänger und skulpturale Antennen bauen.

event | Walk & Talk, Walk & Talk

HACK THE PANKE Festival

  1. Meandering – Or, the Rights to Flow
  2. Walk & Talk | Sybille Neumeyer & India Mansour
11. September 2022

Gemeinsam mit der mikrobiellen Ökologin India Mansour und der Künstlerin Sybille Neumeyer gehen die Teilnehmenden den ständigen Veränderungen des Flusses, der Panke, auf die Spur, und setzen sich mit der Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und möglichen Zukunft des Flusses auseinander.

event | Festival, Unkategorisiert

HACK THE PANKE Festival

  1. Programmübersicht
  2. Festival mit Künstler:innen und Naturwissenschaftler:innen
19. August - 3. Oktober 2022

Herzlich willkommen zum HACK THE PANKE Festival über Kunst, Wissenschaft und Sound in Berlin Wedding im Sommer 2022. Das Festival findet im Rahmen des Programms Draussenstadt Call for Action statt; alle Veranstaltungen sind kostenlos. Für die Teilnahme an den Workshops bitte anmelden.

art and science

event | Workshop

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Khipu Dialogues
  2. Workshop | Constanza Piña Pardo
25 May 2022

The workshop is an open conversation about Constanza’s khipu research, the uncertainty of the past and a ritualistic connection with the ancient technologies of South America. Starting at Art Laboratory Berlin we will explore original khipus in the archives of the Ethnological Museum.

event | Workshop

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Soya C(o)u(l)ture. Ecoprints on Bioleather
  2. Workshop | Irene Agrivina
28 May 2022

In the workshop the artist will introduce the concept of SOYA C(O)U(L)TURE and talk about the process, show samples and then lead the participants in making their very own eco-prints using easily available materials such as flowers and leaves.

event | Conference

HACKERS, MAKERS, THINKERS

  1. Collective Experiments in Social Fermenting
  2. International Conference (hybrid | on-site and livestream)
27 - 28 May 2022

The project discusses artistic ways of rebuilding and re-energizing damaged social relations after the pandemic. The international conference includes presentations by artists, currently on show at ALB, and guest speakers from the artistic and curatorial practice, design, biology and anthropology.

event | Reading Club

Inspired By…

  1. Reading Club
  2. With Guest Artists Rice Brewing Sisters Club (RBSC)
3 May 2022

Inspired by… is an event series, a hybrid format derived from reading group and artist talk formats. In each session, an invited artist will choose a specific text or excerpt from a book that was inspirational for the artist’s practice and/or a particular project that the artist will introduce.

event | Workshop

Hackers, Makers, Thinkers

  1. Almost Nonhuman (Berlin)
  2. Workshop | Interspecifics
7 - 8 May, 2022

The international art research collective Interspecifics invites to a workshop for the collective creation of speculative post-humanist scenarios and build stories together that may assist our transition from the Anthropocene to the transversal inclusivity of the Symbiocene.

event | Colloquium

In Progress… | Colloquium

  1. Research in Art, Science and Humanities
  2. With Fara Peluso and James Whitehead
12 April 2022

The Colloquium addresses an international interdisciplinary research audience to present and discuss past, present or future projects by artists, scholars, curators or editors from the fields of art, science and the humanities, focussing on the work-in-progress.

event | Colloquium

In Progress… | Colloquium

  1. Research in Art, Science and Humanities
  2. With Kat Austen and Alison Sperling
1 March 2022

The Colloquium addresses an international interdisciplinary research audience to present and discuss past, present or future projects by artists, scholars, curators or editors from the fields of art, science and the humanities, focussing on the work-in-progress.

event | Reading Club, Reading Club

Inspired by…

  1. Reading Club
  2. With Guest Artist Cammack Lindsey
22 March, 2022

Inspired by… is an event series, a hybrid format derived from reading group and artist talk formats. In each session, an invited artist will choose a specific text or excerpt from a book that was inspirational for the artist’s practice and/or a particular project that the artist will introduce.

event | Residency

Signs of the Times

  1. Artist Residency
  2. Karolina Żyniewicz
10 January - 15 February 2022

During her residency at ALB artist Karolina Żyniewicz will use the exhibition space for her new project “Signs of the Times”: After having collecting numerous masks in Berlin, the artists started to interview people and communicate with them about their individual mask experience.

event | Talk

Under the viral shadow

  1. Living with the Virus
  2. Online Talk | Caitlin Berrigan, WhiteFeather Hunter, Sebastian Cocioba
18 November 2021

As we face the prospect of the SarsCov-2 virus becoming endemic for the foreseeable future we ask what does “Living with the Virus” mean for us and individuals and as a society. We have asked three artists working at the borders of art and the life sciences to talk about how viral infection, contagion and potential cure has affected their lives and work.

event | Talk

Under the viral shadow

  1. Viral Geographies
  2. Online Talk | Sybille Neumeyer, Karolina Żyniewicz
25 November 2021

The event explores the biopolitics in our current age of pandemic. The online discussion welcomes artists Sybille Neumeyer and Karolina Żyniewicz to talk about their artistic research focusing on the virus in general as well as the impact of the current pandemic in their artistic practice.

event | Walk & Talk

DIY Hack the Panke

  1. Walk & Talk
  2. With members of the art science collective
31 October 2021

Members of the collective will meet for a walk along the Panke river, together with the public, to talk about their previous research on the river, its flora, fauna and ecologies. We will also give a preview of our upcoming DIY/ DIWO program for 2022.

event | Talk

Paired Immunity

  1. Art & Science Talk | Marta de Menezes & Luís Graça
30 October 2021

In the talk the artist Marta de Menezes and the scientist Luís Graça will give insights into their collaborative art-science projects, currently on show at Art Laboratory Berlin in the exhibition “Paired Immunity”. In “Immortality for Two”, they questioned the limits and understanding of their identity. In “Anti-Marta” a skin transplant was exchanged between them.

event | Talk, Workshop

DIY Bio Lounge

  1. in cooperation with Rüdiger Trojok
24 - 26 January 2014

To open our 2014 programme Art Laboratory Berlin will be presenting three days of events on open source biology and micro-organisms organized with Rüdiger Trojok and in connection with the transmediale and CTM festivals

event | Talk

SciArt Café

  1. with Berlin iGEM team
31 January 2016

The iGEM Berlin team (http://igem.berlin/) presents their fourth SciArt Café. Under the main theme of “Programming Life – Good Code/ Bad Code?” we will hear scientists and artists working with bioscience and afterwards discuss topics of synthetic biology.

Read More