Bio & Beers | every Thursday with Biotinkering e.V.

The Bio & Beers format is for everyone: we start with a 20 minutes presentation, followed by discussions while having beers.

More info on
A project of Dr. Mirela Alister, Rüdiger Trojok and Biotinkering e.V.

Thursday 13 October, 2016 at 7PM
DropBot - Digital microfluidics for everyone
Presenter: Ryan and Christian Fobel
Currently researcher in Wheeler's lab, Toronto, Canada, Ryan and Christian have built DropBot, a digital microfluidic biochip.
Here is more about their vision:
After their short presentation, we will join them for an intense hacking session.
Please register here:

Thursday 20 October, 2016, 7PM

Presenter: Dr Utpala Sharma
Phylogenetic studies in some selected groups of Squamates (reptiles) through 16S rRNA
All squamates had a common ancestor but now they have separate distinct Phylogenetic lineages...
Please register here:

Every other SATURDAY we host a hands-on workshops that focuses on various micro-organisms.

Saturday 15 October, 2016: Growing Cellulose - Workshop

Presenter: Margherita Pevere, artist and researcher ( )

Microbial cellulose is a material with unique aesthetic properties: delicate and sensuous, it resembles skin and bodily matter. Not only: once dried, it has paper-like attitude. The best thing is that you can cultivate it yourself!
Margherita Pevere will teach us how to get directly involved in the adventurous life of microbial colonies.
We start on time, so make sure you do not miss any of the experiments.

To help us with organization, please register. The event fee is 15 Euro. Members have free access.

Last Exhibition:

Nonhuman Subjectivities
Aural Aquatic Presence

Robertina Šebjanič

Robertina Šebjanic: Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva generator, Installation with living system, 2014 Photo: Hana Jošič

Opening: 2 September 2016, 8PM
Closing event: 9 October, 3-6PM
Exhibition runs: 3 September - 9 October, 2016
Fri-Sun, 2-6PM and by appointment; open 30 September, 2016 until 9PM

Seminar: Living Systems | Aquatic Systems

with Robertina Šebjanič, Kat Austen, Regine Rapp and Christian de Lutz: 18 September, 2016
More information

The exhibition investigates agency and sentience in one of the 'simplest' of multicellular creatures: the jellyfish, placing it into relation with a 'complex' human made machine. Also noteworthy here is the importance of sound in marine systems, as well as the effects of human intervention on aural aquatic systems.

In her series of works “Aurelia 1+Hz” the Ljubljana based artist Robertina Šebjanič is interested in both biopolitical and technological attempts at the prolongation of life as well as a new critical reflexion of interspecies cohabitation. Šebjanič, whose work involves intensive cooperation with marine biologists from around the globe, has chosen to work with jellyfish, which have existed on earth for over 500 million years.
(More information)

Cooperation partners:

Previous Exhibitions:


Brandon Ballengée | Katya Gardea Browne | Pinar Yoldas

Curated by Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz

At the Alfred Ehrhardt Stiftung, Auguststr. 75, 10117 Berlin
Exhibition runs 2 July-4 September, 2016

Closing reception and curators' tour: 4 September, 2016 at 2PM

(More Information)

Nonhuman Subjectivities
On Animals. Cognition, Senses, Play

Rachel Mayeri   Maja Smrekar

Opening: 27 May, 2016, 8PM
Artists talk: 29 May, 2016, 3PM
Dialog and closing reception: 17 July, 2016, 3PM
Exhibition runs: 28 May– 17 July, 2016, Fri-Sun 2-6PM and by appointment. (24 June open until 9PM)

Left: Maja Smrekar, I Hunt Nature, Culture Hunts Me, performance and video; right Rachel Mayeri, Apes as Family, Film

The exhibition On Animals. Cognition, Senses, Play investigates two groups of animals that are closest to us. Primates, our nearest 'relatives', have a complex cognitive proximity to humans, but also differ radically in certain areas. While dogs, with whom we have made a symbiotic contract., have evolved alongside us over the last 30,000 years. The works in this exhibition share Donna Haraway's concept of "cooperative actions": overcoming conventional dichotomies of nature/culture, human/animal or subject/object is all about joint action. The artists, Maja Smrekar and Rachel Mayeri, make use of certain narrative strategies and the phenomenon of immersion, to approach the perspective of a nonhuman counterpart. The works of both artists place the instinct and the senses of the nonhuman at the centre of artistic research, while aiming to translate the nonhuman cognitive ability by means of the performance, film and art/science collaboration.

Maja Smrekar's performance I Hunt Nature and Culture Hunts Me, created during a research residency, investigates the phylogenetics of the wolf, the wolf-dog-human relationship and animal ethics. The implied risk and intimacy of Smrekar's performance with hybrid wolfdogs is contrasted by the reading of cultural texts from Joseph Beuys, Oleg Kulik and Smrekar. A documentary film also explores the complex evolutionary story of the canine.

In her work Ecce Canis she explores the metabolic pathway processes that trigger emotional motifs which bind humans and dogs and let them successfully coexist together. The installation contains serotonin from both the artist and her Scottish border collie Byron, which has been transformed by chemical protocols into an odour - the chemical essence of their human-canine relationship.

The films of Rachel Mayeri are the result of years of collaboration with primatologists. In her series Primate Cinema, Mayeri has made films for (and about) chimpanzees and other primates. In Apes as Family we watch a drama based on a tale of both chimpanzee social customs and domestication. While, as humans, we find the plot emotionally compelling, we also become caught up with watching the reactions of a chimpanzee audience watching the same film on a large TV. Indeed the film is both an example of 'Primate Cinema', that is a film made for nonhuman primates, and the complexities of cross-species understanding. Mayeri's film Baboons as Friends juxtaposes footage of baboons with a film noir reenactment by human actors, who translate a tale of lust, jealousy and deceit from the animal to the human.

Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz (curators)

(More information)

More on the Nonhuman Subjectivities series

Nonhuman Subjectivities
The Other Selves. On the Phenomenon of the Microbiome

François-Joseph Lapointe, Saša Spačal with Mirjan Švagelj and Anil Podgornik, Tarsh Bates, Joana Ricou
Performance - 1000 Handshakes: 3 February, 7-10PM during the opening of transmediale, House of World Cultures
(More information)
Opening of the exhibition: 26 February, 2016, 8PM
Artists' Talk: 28 February, 2016, 3PM

Science Hack Day Stammtisch 23 March, 2016 19 Uhr (More information)
Scientist and artist talk with PD Dr. Annette Moter and Tarsh Bates: 23 April, 2016, 6PM
Finissage with talk by Felix Navarrete: 30 April, 2016, 3-6PM

Exhibition runs: 27 February – 30 April, 2016, Fri-Sun 2-6PM and by appointment.

left: François-Joseph Lapointe, Microbiome selfie, 2014, center & right: Saša Spačal, Mirjan Švagelj, Anil Podgornik Mycophone Unison, Responsive installation: electronics, sound, and biological material, 2013; Petri dish, detail of installation 2013

The exhibition, the first of our new exhibition series Nonhuman Subjectivities, presents various artistic reflections on the complex microbial environment found on and within the human body. Scientists say that bacterial cells are as numerous as human cells in our body. The phenomenon of the microbiome also brings forth many complex questions about human identity and our relation to our multiple selves.

François-Joseph Lapointe connects his biological research with performance art. His latest works of art deal with the microbiome in our daily lives and physical connections to others. Lapointe sequences his microbiome to produce metagenomic self-portraits, Microbiome Selfies, which illustrate the metamorphosis of his bacterial self. The show will present works from his performance 1000 Handshakes, performed at the opening night of the 2016 transmediale. The final images visualise the microbial change from interacting with someone else’s microbiome – by shaking hands, a basic and ancient act of networking.

Saša Spačal together with Mirjan Švagelj and Anil Podgornik are interested in the contrast between the oneness of the human body as biological entity and the multiplicity of the human microbiome. In their installation Mycophone_unison the artist-scientist-designer collective has developed a sound map of intra-action between their microbiomes and the recipient. By leaving a fingerprint the viewer sends a signal to the map that processes it through the central celestial plate to the microbiomes. The polymodal sonification stresses the multiplicities of the makers.

Left: Tarsh Bates working in the science lab for artistic production, School of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, The University of Western Australia, 2015
Right: Joana Ricou, Other landscape no. 1, microbiome of the artist and environment, C-print, 89 × 140 cm, 2014

Tarsh Bates artistically explores what it means to be human when we recognise our bodies as composed of over one trillion cells, of which only around half are human. Her new work Surface dynamics of adhesion is a flocked wallpaper sampler. Encased in acrylic boxes, living Candida, with blood from Bates herself, form patterns from wallpaper popular in the parlours of Victorian Britain. The work offers aesthetic experiences from the contact zones between the two different organisms, and highlights the unconscious relation we have with Candida.

Joana Ricou’s works blur the fundamental boundary between organism and environment, taking the shape of photographs of microbial paintings or performance. Ricou collected samples of her own microbiome and that of her environment and cultured these in the lab to visualise them. Out of this two portraits emerged: Other-self Portrait, a composite of cultures derived from her body, and Non-self Portrait, a composite of environmental cultures

Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz (curators)

(More information)

More on the Nonhuman Subjectivities series

Information on the [macro]biologies & [micro]biologies series from 2014-15 here...


We are glad to announce our new publication:
[macro]biologies & [micro]biologies. Art and the Biological Sublime in the 21st Century.
Ed. by Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz, Berlin 2015

More information here...

Online publication:

We are proud to share with you our online-publication of the international interdisciplinary 2-day SYNAESTHESIA-Conference, held by Art Laboratory Berlin in the summer 2013:

Synaesthesia. Discussing a Phenomenon in the Arts, Humanities and (Neuro-)Science

Art Laboratory Berlin is grateful for the permanent support of:


Previous cooperation partners

NatureCultures

Brandon Ballengée | Katya Gardea Browne | Pinar Yoldas

Kuratiert von Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz

Bei der Alfred Ehrhardt Stiftung, Auguststr. 75, 10117 Berlin
Ausstellung läuft 2. Juli -4.September 2016
Finissage und Kuratorenführung: 4 September 2016, 14 Uhr
(Mehr Informationen)



Nächste Ausstellung

Nonhuman Subjectivities
Aural Aquatic Presence

Robertina Šebjanič


Robertina Šebjanic, Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva generator, Installation mit lebenden Einheiten, 2014. Photo: Hana Jošič

Vernissage: Freitag, 2. September 2016, 20 Uhr
Laufzeit: 3. September – 9. Oktober 2016,
Öffnungszeiten: Fr – So, 14-18 Uhr u. n. Vereinbarung

Workshop/ Seminar: 18. September 2016
Mit Robertina Šebjani
č, Kat Austen, Regine Rapp, Christian de Lutz
Anmeldung erforderlich/ Mehr Information bald

Die Ausstellung untersucht Wirkung und Empfindung eines der ‚einfachsten’ mehrzelligen Wesen – der Qualle. Diese wird mit einer der vom Menschen gemachten Maschinen in Verbindung gebracht. Das Ausstellungsprojekt thematisiert die Bedeutung von Sound in Meeresgewässern sowie die Auswirkungen menschlicher Eingriffe auf auditive aquatische Systeme.

In ihrer Werkreihe Aurelia 1+Hz setzt sich die in Ljubljana lebende Künstlerin Robertina Šebjani
č mit biopolitischen und technologischen Versuchen der Lebensverlängerung auseinander und reflektiert Formen des Zusammenlebens verschiedener Arten. Šebjanič, die für ihre Projekte mit Marinebiologen aus der ganzen Welt kooperiert, hat sich für die Arbeit mit Quallen entschieden – Tiere, die seit mehr als 500 Mio. Jahren auf unserer Erde existieren.

Ihre interaktive Installation Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva generator von 2014 basiert auf einer wechselseitigen Koexistenz von Tier und Maschine. Im Gegensatz zu Robotern, die durch digitale künstliche Intelligenz gesteuert werden, bedient sich dieses Projekt ausgewählter Tiere, um einer einfachen Maschinen Leben ‚einzuhauchen’, um sich sozusagen durch die Maschine auszudrücken. Die Quallen steuern die gesamte Installation: den mechatronischen Teil sowie Video und Sound. Die Bewegungen und Kontraktionen der Quallen werden von einer HD-Kamera aufgezeichnet. Die Aufnahmen werden dann in Echtzeit in Codes verwandelt, die wiederum die Mechanismen der Installation steuern.

2015 hat Šebjani
č Aurelia 1+Hz / proto viva sonification realisiert – eine audiovisuelle Performance mit lebenden Einheiten. Die Künstlerin hat das Aurelia 1+Hz-Projekt erweitert, um Phänomene der zwischenartlichen Kommunikation, Sonifikation der Umgebung sowie die Akustik des jeweiligen Raumes, das die Wesen umgibt, zu erkunden. „Die sound loops“, erklärt Šebjanič, „enthalten Aufnahmen von Quallen in einer begrenzten Umgebung, die sich mit bereits aufgezeichneten Sound-Experimenten aus dem Meer zu einem generative score vermischen, insgesamt eine intensive immersive klangliche und visuelle Erfahrung.“

Šebjani
čs derzeitiges Projekt Subaquatic / Aquatocene sound scape von 2016 untersucht das Phänomen akustischer Belästigungen unter Wasser, die in Meeren und Ozeanen durch den Menschen verursacht werden. Während der letzten Jahre hat die Künstlerin eine Anzahl von Aufnahmen gemacht, bei denen sie Hydrophone, Unterwasserschallempfänger, benutzt hat. Für die Ausstellung hat sie eine Sound-Installation mit ausgewählten Aufnahmen aus ihrem Archiv produziert, die sich mit menschlicher Lärmbelästigung kritisch auseinander setzt. Unterwasserlärm betrifft eine ganze Reihe mariner Lebensformen, die auf bestimmte subaquatische akustische Milieus existentiell angewiesen sind.



Letzte Ausstellung


Nonhuman Subjectivities
On Animals. Cognition, Senses, Play

Rachel Mayeri   Maja Smrekar

Vernissage: 27. Mai 2016, 20 Uhr
Artists Talk: 29. Mai 2016, 15 Uhr

Dialog und Finissage: 17. Juli 2016, 15 Uhr

Ausstellungslaufzeit: 28. Mai - 17. Juli 2016, Fr-So, 14-18h und nach Vereinbarung (24. Juni geöffnet bis 21 Uhr)


Links: Maja Smrekar, I Hunt Nature and Culture Hunts Me, 2014, Videoaufzeichnung der Performance; rechts: Rachel Mayeri, Apes as Family, 2012, Film

Die Ausstellung On Animals. Cognition, Senses, Play untersucht zwei Arten von Tieren, die eine beeindruckende kognitive Nähe zum Menschen aufweisen: Primaten, unsere nächstliegenden Verwandte, besitzen komplexe kognitive Systeme, die denen der Menschen stark ähneln, sich aber auch in gewissen Bereichen radikal unterscheiden. Hunde, die dem Menschen nächstliegenden Begleiter der gesamten Tierwelt, haben sich neben dem Menschen über 30.000 Jahre lang weiterentwickelt. Allen gemeinsam ist der von Donna Haraway formulierte Begriff des "Miteinanderhandelns": Durch die Überwindung konventioneller Dichotomien von Natur/Kultur, Mensch/Tier oder Subjekt/Objekt geht es vielmehr um ein gemeinsames Agieren. In ihren Arbeiten zu Tieren (Primaten, Hunde und Wölfe) setzen die beiden Künstlerinnen Maja Smrekar und Rachel Mayeri auf bestimmte Strategien des Narrativen und das Phänomen der Immersion, um sich dadurch der Perspektive eines nichtmenschlichen Gegenübers anzunähern. Sie stellen den Instinkt und die Sinne des Nichtmenschlichen ins Zentrum ihrer künstlerischen Forschung. Mittels Performance, Film und Kunst-Naturwissenschafts-Kollaborationen versuchen beide, die Kognitionsfähigkeit des Nichtmenschlichen zu übersetzten.

Maja Smrekars Performance I Hunt Nature and Culture Hunts Me, im Rahmen einer Künstlerinnenresidenz in einem Tierheim für Wölfe entstanden, untersucht die Phylogenetik des Wolfs, die Wolf-Hund-Mensch-Beziehung und setzt sich mit der Tierethik auseinander. Das implizierte Risiko und die Intimität in Smrekars Performance mit den hybriden Wolfshunden wird durch rezitierte Texte von Joseph Beuys, Oleg Kulik und Smrekar kontrastiert. Ein Dokumentarfilm gibt Auskunft über die komplexe Evolutionsgeschichte des Hundes.

In ihrer Arbeit Ecce Canis untersucht die Künstlerin metabolische Prozesse, die emotionale Motive für eine tragende Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Hund angestoßen haben, die erfolgreich koexistieren. Die Ausstellung stellt auch das Serotonin der Künstlerin und dem Border Collie Byron vor. Mittels chemischer Protokolle wurde es in einen Duft transformiert, der die chemische Essenz ihrer Mensch-Hund-Beziehung darstellt.

Für ihre Filme hat die in Los Angeles lebende Künstlerin Rachel Mayeri in den letzten Jahren mit Primatolgen zusammen gearbeitet. Im Rahmen ihrer Serie 'Primate Cinema' hat sie Filme für und über Schimpansen und andere Menschenaffen geschaffen. In Apes as Family können wir ein Drama verfolgen, das eine Geschichte über die sozialen Bräuche von Schimpansen sowie ihre Domestizierung erzählt. Einerseits spricht uns, als menschliche Betrachter, die teils dramatische Handlung emotional an, andererseits sehen wir wiederum die Reaktionen des Schimpansen-Publikums, die denselben Film auf einem großen TV-Monitor sehen. So erweist sich der Film als gelungenes Beispiel für das 'Primate Cinema', als Film für nichtmenschliche Primaten, aber auch für die komplexen Zusammenhänge des artenübergreifend Verständnisses. Mayeris Film Baboons as Friends stellt Filmmaterial mit Pavianen einem Film-Noir-Reenactment mit menschlichen Schauspielern gegenüber und zeigt die Geschichte von Lust, Eifersucht und Betrug von Tieren und Menschen.


Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz (Kuratoren)


(Mehr Informationen)


Mehr zu der Serie Nonhuman Subjectivities




Vorherige Ausstellung:

Nonhuman Subjectivities
The Other Selves. On the Phenomenon of the Microbiome

François-Joseph Lapointe, Saša Spačal mit Mirjan Švagelj und Anil Podgornik, Tarsh Bates, Joana Ricou
Performance - 1000 Handshakes: 3. Februar 2016. 19-22 Uhr während Eröffnung der transmediale, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Mehr Informationen)
Vernissage: 26. Februar 2016, 20 Uhr
Künstler/innengespräch: 28. Februar 2016, 15Uhr
Science Hack Day Stammtisch 23. März 2016, 19 Uhr (Mehr Informationen)
Naturwissenschaftlerin und Künstlerin im Gespräch - PD Dr. Annette Moter und Tarsh Bates: 23. April 2016, 18 Uhr
Finissage mit Gespräch von Felix Navarrete: 30. April, 2016 15-18 Uhr

Ausstellung: 27. Februar – 30. April, 2016 || Fr-So 14-18 Uhr u.n.V.



Links: François-Joseph Lapointe, Microbiome selfie, 2014 Mitte & rechts: Saša Spačal, Mirjan Švagelj, Anil Podgornik Mycophone Unison, Responsive Installation: Elektronic, Klang, und biologische Materialen, 2013; Petri dish, Installation Detail 2013


Die Ausstellung, die erste unserer neuen Ausstellungsreihe Nonhuman Subjectivities, zeigt verschiedene künstlerische Positionen zum komplexen mikrobiellen Milieu am und im menschlichen Körper. Wissenschaftler behaupten, dass es genauso viele Bakterien wie menschliche Zellen in unserem Körper gibt. Das Phänomen des Mikrobioms wirft also eine Menge grundlegender Fragen über die menschliche Identität und unsere Beziehung zu unseren multiplen Entitäten auf.

François-Joseph Lapointe verbindet seine biologische Forschung mit Performancekunst. Seine jüngsten künstlerischen Arbeiten thematisieren das Mikrobiom in Verbindung mit unserem alltäglichen Leben und der physischen Beziehung zu anderen. Lapointe sequenziert sein eigenes Mikrobiom, um metagenomische Selbstportraits zu schaffen, sogenannte Microbiome Selfies, welche die Metamorphose seines bakteriellen Selbst illustrieren. In der Ausstellung werden neue Arbeiten seiner Performance 1000 Handshakes zu sehen sein, die er vor kurzem in der Eröffnungsnacht der transmediale 2016 realisierte. Die Bilder zeigen den mikrobiellen Verlauf während der Interaktion mit dem Mikrobiom anderer - so zum Beispiel beim Händeschütteln, einer grundlegenden und uralten Form der Beziehungspflege.

Saša Spačal zusammen mit Mirjan Švagelj und Anil Podgornik untersuchen die Dichotomie des Einsseins des menschlichen Körpers zwischen biologischer Einheit zum einen und Vielheit des menschlichen Mikrobioms zum anderen. In ihrer Installation Mycophone_unison entwickelte das Kunst-Wissenschaft-Design-Team eine auditive Landkarte der Interaktionen ihrer Mikrobiome und uns Rezipienten: Indem die Besucher ihren Fingerabdruck hinterlassen, senden sie ein Signal an die Karte, die dies durch die zentrale Himmelsplatte an die drei Mikrobiome weitergibt und verarbeitet. Die polymodale Sonifikation betont dabei die Vielfältigkeit der Macher/innen.

    
Links: Tarsh Bates bei der Arbeit im Labor für künstlerische Produktion, School of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, The University of Western Australia, 2015, Rechts: Joana Ricou, Other landscape no. 1, microbiome der Künstlerin und Umgebung, C-print, 89 × 140 cm, 2014

Tarsh Bates untersucht künstlerisch, was es bedeutet, Mensch zu sein, wenn unser Körper mit mehr als einer Billion Zellen ausgestattet ist, von denen doch nur die Hälfte menschliche sind. Ihre neue Arbeit Surface dynamics of adhesion besteht aus einem beflockten Tapetenmodell. Auf der Grundlage des Bluts der Künstlerin und in Plexiglas-Rahmen dicht verschlossen entwickelt ein Candida bestimmte Muster, die in den Salons der viktorianischen Zeit populär waren. Die Arbeit ermöglicht ästhetische Erfahrungen über die Kontaktzonen zwischen den zwei völlig unterschiedlichen Organismen. Darüber hinaus thematisiert die Installation die unbewusste Beziehung, die wir zu Candida haben.

Joana Ricous Fotografien, mikrobielle Gemälde und Performances verlaufen jenseits der traditionellen Grenze zwischen Organismus und Umgebung. Ricou sammelt Proben ihres eigenen Mikrobioms und das ihrer Umgebung, kultiviert diese im Labor, um sie anschließend zu visualisieren. Daraus sind zwei Portrait-Serien entstanden: Other-self Portraits, ein Gemisch von Kulturen ihres eigenen Körpers; und Non-self Portraits, ein Gemisch von umgebenden Kulturen.

Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz (Kuratoren)


(Mehr Informationen)

Mehr zu der Serie Nonhuman Subjectivities



Mit der freundlichen Unterstüzung von:



Kooperationspartner:

 

Medienpartner:


Ermöglicht durch eine großzügige Unterstützung von Michael Schröder.





Informationen zu der Serie [macro]biologies & [micro]biologies von 2014-15 hier...


Publikationen!

Wir freuen uns sehr, Ihnen/ Euch unsere neue Publikation vorzustellen:
[macro]biologies & [micro]biologies. Art and the Biological Sublime in the 21st Century.
Hrsg. v.Regine Rapp & Christian de Lutz, Berlin 2015
Mehr Informationen hier...



Online Publikation:
Wir freuen uns sehr, mit Ihnen/ Euch unsere Online-Publikation der zweitägigen internationalen, interdisziplinären Konferenz zu teilen, die bei Art Laboratory Berlin im Sommer 2013 stattgefunden hat: Synaesthesia. Discussing a Phenomenon in the Arts, Humanities and (Neuro-)Science

Art Laboratory Berlin bedankt sich für die ständige Unterstützung von:

 

Bisherige Kooperationspartner von Art Laboratory Berlin